Emre Arolat is among the nine members of the Master Jury for the 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture, established in 1977, is given every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, urban and regional design, conservation and landscape architecture.

The Jury, which independently selects the recipients of the US$ 1 million Award, will convene in January 2016 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects. The shortlisted projects will then be subject to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts. The Jury will meet for a second time in June 2016 to examine the on-site reviews and then select the final recipients of the Award.

The nine members of the Master Jury for the 2014-2016 Award cycle are:

  • Suad Amiry, Founder, Riwaq Centre for Architectural Conservation, Ramallah
  • Emre Arolat, Founder, EAA-Emre Arolat Architecture, Istanbul
  • Akeel Bilgrami, Sydney Morgenbesser Professor of Philosophy, Columbia University, New York
  • Luis Fernàndez-Galiano, Editor, Architectura Viva, Madrid
  • Hameed Haroon, Chief Executive Officer, Herald Publications, Karachi
  • Lesley Lokko, Head, Graduate School of Architecture, University of Johannesburg, Johannesburg
  • Mohsen Mostafavi, Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge
  • Dominique Perrault, Founder, Dominique Perrault Architecture, Paris
  • Hossein Rezai, Director, Web Structures, Singapore

For more information, please visit